NCAR&EMS Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

Meeting Minutes for June 20, 2008


NC Association of Rescue & EMS, Inc.
June 20, 2008
Hickory Metro Convention Center, Hickory NC
Commander Gary Whitman called the meeting to order.
Invocation was given by Chaplain Dean Wall.
Welcome: Susan Burt, Catawba County Association of Rescue Squads.
The Auxiliary was excused for their meeting.
Adoption of order of business; motion Robert Poe; to eliminate all reports except finance and approval of the minutes; second Herb Roberson; motion carried.
Roll call showed 17 Directors, 6 Alternates, 2 Past Commanders, Commander and Executive Director present.
Minutes of Directors Meeting. Motion to approve Scott McCaskill; second Herb Roberson; motion carried.

Old Business:


Committee reports were given as follows:

Finance Committee:

(1) Henry Sermons; motion to accept the balance sheets as of 5-31-2008 for the Association and Brotherhood; second Scott McCaskill; motion carried. (2) Proposed budget for the Association and Brotherhood are the same as approved in January.

New Business:

Meeting recessed until after the convention business meeting.

Meeting resumed.

Commander Gary Whitman recommended Jim Long for Emeritus Membership. Motion by Bill Henderson; second by Robert Poe; motion carried.

Credential Committee Chairman Jerry Bradshaw reporting; (1) Two areas had no one file for Director by the deadline. (2) Since the deadline the two areas have had someone file. (3) Area I, Ronald Watt, Area VI, Jackie Likens,There was a tie for the Directors for Area X. David Stamey and Herb Robinson. The committee followed the rules and recommended, Herb Robinson. Second Scott McCaskill; that the three be appointed; motion carried. (4) All other Directors have been re-elected and notified.

Appointive Officers:

Chaplain: Dean Wall
Legal Advisor: Phillip Baddour Jr.
Medical Advisor: Dr.Mark Glaser
Parliamentarian: Ricky Earl Joyner

Committee Chairpersons:

Advisory Committee: Tommy McNeill
Constitution Committee: Glenn Cowan
Credential Committee: Jerry Bradshaw
Finance Committee: Henry Sermons
BLS Competition Committee: Tommy McNeill
Rescue Competition Committee: Terry Foxx
Legislative Committee: Robert Poe
Membership Committee: Tommy McNeill
Personnel Committee: Jeff Hinshaw
Rescue & EMS Memorial: Henry Sermons

Motion to approve Herb Roberson; second Jerry Bradshaw; motion carried.

Directors Meetings: September 13-14, 2008, McDowell County Rescue; February 21-22, 2009, Goldsboro NC; June 26, 2009, Greenville, NC. Motion to approve Herb Robinson; second Glen Cowan; motion carried.

Personnel Committee annual appointment: Kim Haddock.
Representative from Area 6-10: Debbie Poe.
Director from Area 1-5: Jerry Bradshaw.

Motion to accept Glen Cowan; second Bill Henderson; motion carried.


There being no further business; motion to adjourn Vince Stone; second Herb Roberson; motion carried.


Gordon A. Joyner/Executive Director

(Not official until approved by the Board of Directors.)

Meeting Minutes for June 20, 2008

[Jump to index] | [Jump to home page]