NCAR&EMS Board of Directors Meeting Minutes

Meeting Minutes for June 24, 2005


NC Association of Rescue & EMS, Inc.
June 24, 2005
Adams' Mark Hotel Winston Salem NC
Commander Robert called the meeting to order.
Invocation was given by Chalpain Dean Wall
Welcome was given by Billy Joyce Jr. of Winston Salem Rescue.
The Auxiliary was excused for their meeting.
Adoption of order of business; motion by Henry Sermons; to eliminate all reports except Finance, Advisory, Credential Committee and new business; second by Terry Foxx; motion carried.
Guests were recognized; Ed Browning Assistant Chief OEMS and staff. Robert Swiger Field Service Supervisor Department of Insurance, Mike Hill with VSWCF and Darlene Johnson with EM.
Roll call showed 19 Directors, 2 Alternates, 1 Past Commander, Commander, Vice Commander, Secretary-Treasurer and Parliamentarian present.
Minutes of Directors Meeting. Motion to approve by Bill Henderson; second by Henry Sermons; motion carried.

Old Business:


Committee reports were given as follows:

Advisory Committee:

Request for the Duplin County Association of Rescue to name and present an award in honor of Hirman Brinson Jr to a member who has over come physical disabilites. Motion from the committee to approve; second by Terry Foxx; motion carried.

Finance Committee:

Henry Sermons; motion to accept the balance sheets as of 5-31-2005 for the Association and Brotherhood; second by Fitz McKeel; motion carried.

Credentials Committee:

Jerry Bradshaw reporting; (1) One candidate for Commander, Gary Whitman, credentials are in order. (2) One candidate for Vice Commander, Tommy McNeill, credentials are in order. (3) Dean Grigg and Vince Stone filed for the open Directors position for Area X. Proper documantion for the position was filed by Vince Stone. Motion by Herb Robertson to elect Vince Stone; second by Roger Taylor; motion carried. (4) Jerry Bradshaw and Andie Thomas filed for the open Directors position for Area III. Both have filed proper documation. Secret ballot was held and Jerry Bradshaw was elected Director for Area III. (5) Two position for Alternate Director, one from Area V, Darryl Hawkins and one from Area X, Bob Twomey. Proper documation has been filed and they are appointed as Alternate Directors.

New Business:

Convention bids: (1) Catawba County Association of Rescue presented bid for June 20-23, 2007 and June 18 - 22, 2008 with an option for June 17 - 20, 2009. (2) Bids from the Association were from the following. Radisson Hotel and Showplace, High Point. Twin City Quarter, Winston Salem. Adam's Mark, Charlotte. Convention Center Complex, Greenville. Sheraton Grand and Riverfront Convention Center, New Bern. Sheraton Hotel, Greensboro. Copies are on file. Motion by Henry Sermons to accept Catawba County Rescue Association bid; second by Herb Robinson; motion carried.

Commander Robert Poe recommended Gene Gladin for Emeritus Membership. Motion by Bill Henderson; second by Herb Roberson. Motion carried.

Commander Poe recommended Life Membership for Terry Foxx and Scott McCaskill.Motion to approve by Herb Roberson; second by Bill Henderson; motion carried.

Meeting recessed until after the convention business meeting.

Meeting resumed.

Appointive Officers:

Chaplain: Dean Wall
Legal Advisor: Phillip Baddour Jr.
Medical Advisor: Dr.Mark Glaser
Parliamentarian: Ricky Earl Joyner

Committee Chairpersons:

Advisory Committee: Tommy McNeill
Constitution Committee: Glen Cowan
Credential Committee: Jerry Bradshaw
Finance Committee: Henry Sermons
BLS Competition Committee: Tommy McNeill
Rescue Competition Committee: Terry Foxx
Legislative Committee: Robert Poe
Membership Committee: Tommy McNeill
Personnel Committee: Jeff Hinshaw: Chair & Director Area 6-10
Rescue & EMS Memorial: Henry Sermons

Motion to approve by Bill Henderson; second by Benny Greene; motion carried.

Directors Meetings: September 17-18, 2005 West Jefferson. January 21-22, 2006, Wilson, June 23, 2006 Winston Salem. Motion to approve by Bill Henderson; second by Herb Roberson; motion carried.


There being no further business; motion to adjourn by Herb Roberson; second by Benny Greene; motion carried.


Gordon A. Joyner/Secretary-Treasurer

(Not official until approved by the Board of Directors.)

Meeting Minutes for June 24, 2005

[Jump to index] | [Jump to home page]